Edith’s First Steps

Standard

Last evening, my husband was filling Edith’s bath and I was responding to a text. I look up from my dreadful phone to find my daughter standing on her own, a few steps away from the ottoman with her new wooden rosary from Papa and Grammy Sue in hand (Edith has this obsession with rosaries, she kisses the tiny little Jesus on the crucifix, does prayer hands…the girl’s destined to be a Saint, I tell you!). I see my husband, jaw dropped at the entrance to the hallway. We are both in utter disbelief/excitement! Our sweet daughter/very first child/light of our lives just took her first steps!!! These were long awaited, as Edy’s been sooooo close for months! We honestly thought she was going to start walking several months ago, but she just never mustered the confidence to let go of our hands. I dropped my phone and swooped her up in my arms as Ryan rushed over to us. It was such a beautiful moment. I was fighting back my tears, we were all SO happy and proud. Edith was surely joining in these emotions as she giggled away at our high-pitched squeals of approval.

My daughter is growing up. I’ve never known a 1 year old as smart as her. She catches on so fast to everything. She knows some sign language, points out her body parts when asked where they are, has been learning new words since she was a tiny 4-5 month old, and nods yes or no when asked questions. But walking and crawling, these things took extra time for her. I hated that sometimes I would feel jealousy when I’d hear about other kids younger than her walking and that I felt judged when other moms would point out that she wasn’t walking yet. I feel like a lot of moms think I’m lazy or I hold her too much. Is there a such thing as holding my child too much? Are not all moms as obsessed with their children as I am with her? When it comes to parenting, I tend to ask myself the question, “what would Mary do?” Would Mary let Jesus “cry it out?” Would Mary still be breastfeeding? Would Mary spank Jesus? This question always helps me with the THOUSANDS of parenting decisions that come my way daily. Even though Mary and I live in completely different times, I still think her methods must apply to my life, just as the “old and outdated Bible”(as some might refer to it) does. 

Anyway, we knew she would learn in her own time and that we are proud of her every day, no matter what. She doesn’t have to be the first to accomplish milestones. At the end of the day all we want is for her to know how tremendously she is loved. By mommy, by dada, and most of all, by Jesus.

One thought on “Edith’s First Steps

  1. jnell lane

    Amazing, well-written picture of Edith’s tremendously special moment. I say keep it up. You never know when that one article is going to touch someone! Blessings to you lady 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

