Posting and Momming Are Hard to Do!

Standard

So, yes, it’s been quite some time since I posted. Turns out my priorities do not include blog posting at the top of the list, and for that I am thankful! God has blessed me with many other things to be busy with, and when all of that is pushed aside, I get to spend time with my Lord and my family. 

But here is what I think of that (as my daughter is making silly noises and climbing up and down the futon this very moment… she is so amazing and for this reason, this post will be a QUICK one), I do not in any way spend enough time with my Lord and my family. In fact, I think it is impossible to do. The saddening thing is that I don’t make an effort to spend more time with the God who created me. Why do I do that? Why do I fill my day with a lot of things that won’t matter at the end of the day instead of living every. single. moment of it with God, with His beloved Son, and His Holy Spirit? It’s just plain stupid, especially when He wants to spend this time with me. Little, insignificant me.

(Pause for a moment while I feed my daughter her breakfast.)

The thing is, I can do all the tasks I need to do and spend time with God. That is how He designed our lives to be, after all. If we are performing every act according to God’s will, then every act will be working toward His will and His will for others. Amazing. It’s amazing how He so perfectly designed all of our lives, and intertwining with millions of others.’ 

So, what do I need to do this morning in order to give my day in all its entirety to Him? Well, for starters I can wake up and tell God just that. I must start every day in prayer, telling our Lord that I give myself to Him today and all His works for I am His. But I can’t stop praying there. It is difficult to do, and it will take a lotttt of hard work and patience, but it is possible to live the entire day in prayer. This is what you and I should strive for. In everything we do, we should be talking to Christ. How else can we know that we are doing just what He wants us to do?

I’ve always had a relationship with Christ, and I’ve had times where I’ve felt close and times where I’ve been far from Him (by my own decisions, of course), but I realized just how close you can become with our Lord after I started reading about the Saints. There is a book of meditations put together of St. Faustina’s, and once you read just a few of them, you will understand what I mean. I don’t know how close you all are to Jesus Christ, but I’m guessing many of you might feel similar to the way I felt reading St. Faustina’s diaries. After reading some of the diaries, I thought, “Wow. She must be really close to God to have these conversations with HIm. I have a looong way to go if I truly want to be a saint myself.” It was good I read them, though, because now I see a glimpse of just how close you can become to God in this life. His love is infinite, and we can never run out of love for Christ, just as He never runs out of love for each and every one of us. It is a beautiful gift, and He gives it to us freely. 

For this reason and at least a billion others, I encourage myself and all of you to start your day in prayer, saying to God, “Lord, I give my heart, body, and soul to you, as well as this day. I am yours. Please use me as a tool to bring your children home to you. Thank you for your unending love and mercy.” Amen.

P.S.The link to St. Faustina’s book is here: http://www.catholiccompany.com/diary-saint-maria-faustina-kowalska-divine-mercy-my-soul-i8063/?sli=1003833&aid=1080&new=yes

One thought on “Posting and Momming Are Hard to Do!

Leave a Reply

